Eye Eye Captain: I Date Spotted Through The Looking Glass

10 Nov

Before we get started on I Date, I feel I owe to all of you, dear readers, a short apology.

We are not going to match the timeline of dates indicated in this blog’s title.

There. I said it. Phew! ‘But Dave!’, I hear you cry. ‘That’s kind of a misleading title then isn’t it?‘ And you would be right, dear reader.  However we have come too far to turn back now! So I ask you all to please, stay on this journey with me, despite the infrequent postings, and I prey you will go well rewarded with content and good cheer.

Now having said that, shall we turn our eyes to the letter I?

That's Captain Birds Eye to you!

Captain Birds Eye seemed kind of appropriate here...

Quick: name as many activities that you can that start with the letter I.  <tick tock>  Not many, right? Sure, there’s Indian food, Italian food and Indonesian food annnnddd that’s about it, right?

Wrong! It stands for injustice everywhere (where’s Captain America when you need him?!). It stands for The Spanish Inquisition (nobody expected it). But perhaps most importantly, I stands for ice cream indoors! Oh sure, it wasn’t exactly the dark and stormy night that forced us to look for Inspiration Inside (with apologies to Intel), but lacking in any real motivation or finances to go anywhere, it was perfect.

Cheers!

Cheers!

The problem I have with ice cream is that it’s so temporary. We needed something else to do to really classify this as an official alphabet date. And all of a sudden it became clear. We wouldn’t just spend the rest of the night gazing into each others eyes while trying not to get distracted by the TV. We would illustrate each other.

What a model!

Look at that poser/posture...

It’s worth mentioning at this juncture that Theresa, in high school, was quite the artiste. She had a knack, you could say, for drawing. Not that this was a competition at all, but I was behind the eight ball from the start. I mean sure, I started out on the right track, trying my best to capture the shape of her body position…

The bare bones

Nice lines, right?

…but as you can see, as soon as facial features come into play, I struggle a bit. (This isn’t a new thing for me; ever since my early high school days of playing Warhammer, I always had the Dwarf army with the worst eyes as I could never nail them).

The muse laughs at the artist

I think we'll call this "Couch a la Treesy"

Like all ‘good’ artists, I reverted to some tried and tested lines when explaining my final piece. “It was hard to work in this light,” I said. “And it didn’t do the subject matter justice. Hopefully you can see my neo-classical faux-modern interpretation at work.”

The final draft

Almost time for the big reveal (apologies about the nose Treesy)

She seemed to like it. But then it was her turn to exact artistic revenge of sorts.

She likes it!

Well, she did a good job of pretending to like it haha

I struck what I thought was a thoughtful yet distant pose. Something that said “come closer and smell what I’m wearing” but also said “not that close you perv.”

Zoolander 2.0

Half way through pulling my best "Bluesteel"

And can I say, I think Theresa really picked up on that. Look at that stern eye line!

Sexy and I know it

Stylin'

Editors note: this date took place on September 3, 2011.

3 Responses to “Eye Eye Captain: I Date Spotted Through The Looking Glass”

  1. Eric November 11, 2011 at 5:31 AM #

    Very cool! I think I like the “I” standing for ice cream, but your right … it is soooooo temporary. lol I think I am going to do one of these drawing nights with my wife. That should be a lot of fun. Thank you for the post.

    – Eric

    • David November 11, 2011 at 9:09 AM #

      Thanks heaps Eric, glad you liked it! We’ve done J date too, just need to find time post wedding tomorrow to put it all up…

      Let me know how you go with your dates!

      • Sisterino from another motherino May 28, 2012 at 10:31 PM #

        Hey… Just in case ur wondering, there are other Vassiliou girls that actually enjoy reading this post, and I think it’s time for another one! Maybe trying to do one while overseas…what letter r u up too? K? I cant think of any ATM … But tommorows another day!!! Hope ur having a fun time bro xo

Leave a Reply

